Vintage Items: Checklist from my First Job!

I found my old checklist from my first few weeks working in the petting farm at WildLife Trails.  In the petting farm area, we took care of  chickens, ducks, geese, guineas,sheep, cows, goats, donkeys, miniature horses, llamas and pigs. After doing all this stuff on this list daily, caretaking for a large number of  assorted animals became almost second nature to me. Within a couple of years I graduated to Senior Keeper, and I was then able to learn working with the wild animals, which were all native Georgia wildlife such as deer and elk, owls and hawks, cougars, bobcats, possums, otters and raccoons, and even snakes and lizards!

It was a very exciting job, learning about all sorts of wild and farm animals and being with them all day, but it did get pretty exhausting. I was younger and fitter then, of course, but even then, being outside in the heat, rain and cold all day, every day wore me down after a while. I was in college and my parents were divorcing, and my mental state wasn’t that great. After four years I resigned, but I will always have very fond memories of the place.wildlife trails list.jpg

Leave a Reply

