Once Upon a Challenge, Days 1–4

I love looking for month-long art challenges online, and filling up new sketchbooks with them. Drawing every day has immensely improved my drawing within the past year; however, with so much drawing going on I had to slim down the products I draw in.

I am a blank book and notebook hoarder. I love, love, love blank sketchbooks, notebooks and journals, and I know I am not alone as I have found dozens of websites of people with similar afflictions. I have a lot of small hardback sketchbooks which I thought were going to be perfect for my art challenges, and I may still use them, but…saving them afterward is the hard part. I also archive everything, and all those hardback sketchbooks take up a lot of real estate on the bookshelves after a while. It was a difficult switch, one I took kicking and screaming because I loooove looking at my shelves and seeing actual books I filled up, but in the end I have switched mostly to booklets. The main ones I use are Fabriano(made in Italy) notebooks. They are slim and staple-bound, with forty pages–just the right size for a month-long challenge without a lot of pages left over. The paper in them is acid-free and a nice shade of ivory, and the binding, even if stapled, seems very well put together. A very nice brand of notebook to be so inexpensive.

 

Leave a Reply

