Project: The Simon Le Bon Aztec Bird(?) Shirt

I’m an 80s gal. I loved the music, the clothes, the TV shows, the toys and the knickknacks of our daily lives.
I was a big Duran Duran fan, too. I had a group of friends that shared my adoration for them, some to the point of being fanatical. A couple even signed their last names on notes back and forth with their last names as “Le Bon” and “Rhodes”. They are still my friends to this day, so if they are reading this I hope they share a chuckle with me. I preferred Andy Taylor myself,but I always tended to kinda go for the more unusual person in a band. Anyway, I was fortunate to be able to watch “Live Aid” when it happened, and I taped most of it, the whole day. It actually occurred on a day that we were having a birthday party for me at my parents’ house. I would run over to the TV periodically to check that it was recording or to shove a new tape into the VCR, and then get back to the festivities. I would watch my favorite acts when they happened..I remember it was just a very loose sort of day.

When Duran Duran came onstage, I was really wowed by Le Bon’s new look; he had very short dark hair instead of the frosted blonde mullet he had sported before. I was also very enamored with his outfit and have pretty much wanted to mimic it ever since. It was a red blazer(God,I loved the blazer-over-graphic tee look) over a white tee shirt with a black bird or dragon-bird in a very Aztec-like style.

Le bon shirt composite.jpg

This is a composite I have made of the shirt. I have paused and screencapped this video(the video is also known as “The Bum Note Heard Round the World” but I won’t go into that. I felt bad for the guy but I will admit cracking up when I heard it) over and over but I can’t get a shot of what the bird’s head looks like. Still,I think I could draw it if I wanted to, and I do want to. I want my own shirt, dammit! It’s long overdue.

Leave a Reply

