Slimy Saturday: Making Basic Baking Soda/Saline Slime!

I love making slime. So much that I decided to make it a feature on this site. Today we will go through the most basic, and, in my opinion, the most successful of the slime recipes I’ve tried.

Basic blue 6.jpg

You will need:

  • 12 oz of Elmer’s white or clear glue (I am using clear in this version)
  • 2 tablespoons of saline solution for contact lens
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Baking Soda
  • food coloring
  • mixing bowl or other container to mix your slime

 

Basic blue 1.jpg

Pour your glue in first.

 

Basic blue 2

Add the baking soda and saline solution.

 

Basic blue 3.jpg

Add one drop of food coloring.

 

Basic blue 5 copy.jpg

Begin mixing it with your hand,just stirring it around in a circular motion. When it starts to get to the point where you can pull it up from the bowl and it stretches, it’s almost ready. Keep working it around in the bowl with your hand until it begins to stick to itself and come loose from the sides of the bowl. Here is where you have to decide how sticky you want it. If you want to be able to pick up your slime without it sticking to everything, add more saline solution. This cuts the stickiness and makes it easier to handle.

 

Basic blue 6.jpg

Everyone has their tastes in slime, but I like it when I can hold it in my hand without it sticking to me, yet it quickly oozes out of my hand. Again, adding more saline with cut the stickiness.

 

Basic blue 7.jpg

It should roll nicely into somewhat of a ball…

 

Basic blue 8.jpg

Then, gradually, as gravity takes effect, the ball should flatten out into a gelatinous puddle. To me this is the perfect slime!

 Now, get out there and get slimin’! Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

